Grey image from Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000 and being clueless

My webcam only produces a grey image and that is not useful. This seems to be a known issue involving the kernel, the pwc driver and what not… Many have written about it, and fixes seem to be available.

The problem I have here (and maybe others do, too) is that I get scared about blindly following someone’s instructions, when I have absolutely no clue what it is they are doing. Especially when this involves words like “kernel”, “compiling” etc. Concepts that I have yet to grasp. And being a so-called newbie, I would not know how to undo anything should it go wrong. Hence, I usually look for instructions that focus on using GUI’s where possible and I’d much rather add a repository and install something via Synaptic then using the command line. That way, I can simply uninstall whatever I installed by checking a box – or at least I think I can.

So, after reading several forum threads and howtos etc. I decided to go ahead and (blindly) follow these instructions.

However, at point 5 (modprobe -r pwc), I get stuck with this:

FATAL: Error removing pwc (/lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/kernel/drivers/media/video/pwc/pwc.ko): Operation not permitted

…not sure what to do next. Will have to try whatever else is out there on the web and report back.

One response to “Grey image from Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000 and being clueless

  1. Pingback: Solving the “grey image” problem « boff

Leave a Reply

