Installing Skype and (first part of) Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000
Simply plugged in my webcam, and the first impression is that it seems to be working.
When typing lsusb it shows up as like this:
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 046d:08b2 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 4000

Next I ran Ekiga, using the “Configuration Druid” I chose ALSA as Audio Manager and “USB device…” as audio input device (am using the webcam’s inbuilt microphone): Using “Test settings” confirms that the microphone works fine.
Then I chose V4L as “Video Manager” and in the following dialog was given the option to select “Logitech Quickcam 4000”, which I did, of course. I.e. so far it appears to be just working.

However, clicking on “Display images from your camera device” shows only a grey square …I will need to investigate that further.

Skype
Installed Skype, using repositories.
I hope that using this method means that I will get updates to Skype through the normal system-wide update manager.

The whole process is very simple: go to > System > Administration > Software Sources … > Third Party > Add
Then add this line
deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free
Reload package information
Then run Synaptic, look for Skype, and mark it for installation.

…ran Skype, made a call, works.🙂

Now lets hope that they provide video calling sometime in the not so distant future.
For me the next step will be to solve that thing with the grey box, i.e. get images from the webcam working.

Leave a Reply

