To-do list

Now that I’ve upgraded to Ubuntu 7.04, here’s a note to myself of things I can think of now that I still need to do:

  • Keep windows in /boot/grub/menu.lst
  • Every time there is a kernel upgrade (or after upgrading to Feisty), the menu.lst file gets changed. That file lists what operating systems choices GRUB lists upon bootup. I dual-boot between Ubuntu and WinXP. After every upgrade, however, WinXP gets deleted from the list. I have learnt to backup the old menu.lst and restore the appropriate lines of code to it afterwards, but it is annoying. So I have to find out how to tell Ubuntu to keep that choice there when upgrading.

  • Does linux keep all the old kernels around? (i.e. there are more and more options in GRUB) Can I get rid of old ones and save disk space?
  • Wireless networking
  • Before the Feisty upgrade NetworkManager has given me all sorts of headaches when trying to connect to wireless networks. Need to investigate situation now and see what needs to be done…

  • Have DVD’s autorun in VLC player instead of gXine.
  • Move the home folde to a different partition… maybe
  • Get rid of the icons for my different partitions on the desktop
  • I can access them through the > Places menu. However, do show icons for inserted media such as CDs or USB sticks. Also, I want to make the “DellUtility” Partition, that presumably is factory installed from Dell, totally disappear from view.

  • Install beagle, tracker, … desktop search?
  • Experiment with desktop effects?

…I’m sure there will be more.

3 responses to “To-do list

  1. Sleep is the present we are given every day to get our ego-minds out of the way so we can realign with Source and Life Force can freely
    flow through us. Obtaining sufficient sleep is extremely crucial
    in raising your frequency and maintaining it higher.

  2. It’s an amazing piece of writing for all the internet visitors;
    they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  3. I enjoy, lead to I found exactly what I was
    looking for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

Leave a Reply

